About CSE


About CSE

Civil Services Examination (CSE) is most sought after competitive examination by graduates and post graduates in India who wish to join Group ‘A’ and Group ‘B’ Services in Government of India as Civil Servant. Civil Services Examination is conducted by Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) once every year at all India level. This examination comprises two successive stages called Civil Services (Preliminary) Examination and Civil Services (Main) Examination (Written and Interview). The Civil Services (Preliminary) Examination comprises of Objective Type Papers. Civil Services (Preliminary) Examination is used for the selection of candidates for Main Examination.  The marks obtained in Preliminary are not counted for determining the final order of merit of candidates. The Civil Services (Main) The examination comprises of written papers as well as interview for the selection of candidates for the various services and posts. The total marks obtained in the second stage of the examination are used to determine the final order of the merit of the candidates. The services and posts offered to the candidates who are placed in the final order of merit are as under,


  1. Indian Administrative Service (IAS)

  2. Indian Foreign Service ( IFS)

  3. Indian Police Service ( IPS)

  4. Indian P & T Accounts & Finance Service, Group ‘A’

  5. Indian Audit and Accounts Service, Group ‘A’

  6. Indian Revenue Service (Customs and Central Excise), Group ‘A’

  7. Indian Defence Accounts Service, Group ‘A’

  8. Indian Revenue Service (I.T.), Group ‘A’

  9. Indian Ordnance Factories Service, Group ‘A’ (Assistant Works Manager, Administration)

  10. Indian Postal Service, Group ‘A’

  11. Indian Civil Accounts Service, Group ‘A’

  12. Indian Railway Traffic Service, Group ‘A’

  13. Indian Railway Accounts Service, Group 'A'

  14. Indian Railway Personnel Service, Group ‘A’

  15. Post of Assistant Security Commissioner in Railway Protection Force, Group ‘A’

  16. Indian Defence Estates Service, Group ‘A’

  17. Indian Information Service (Junior Grade), Group ‘A’

  18. Indian Trade Service, Group 'A'

  19. Indian Corporate Law Service, Group ‘A’

  20. Armed Forces Headquarters Civil Service, Group ‘B’ (Section Officer’s Grade)

  21. Delhi, Andaman & Nicobar Islands, Lakshadweep, Daman & Diu, and Dadra & Nagar Haveli Civil Service, Group 'B'

  22. Delhi, Andaman & Nicobar Islands, Lakshadweep, Daman & Diu, and Dadra & Nagar Haveli Police Service, Group 'B'

  23. Pondicherry Civil Service, Group 'B'

  24. Pondicherry Police Service, Group ‘B’

Among the above services, IAS and IPS are called all India services. The candidates selected in these services are allotted state wise cadre.